Stacks Image 2061
Stacks Image 2063
Stacks Image 2065

The Restaurant

Roughly 500 years ago, when Michel de Montaigne passed through South Germany on his journey to Italy, which was well-nigh de rigueur in those days, he extolled not only the comfortable duvets, which he found light and yet warm, but also the local cuisine. And even today, we are beholden to it. Like in the olden days, a carte du jour completes our extensive menu.

And mind you, Swabian cookery is not inevitably weighty. Be it grilled, steamed, or smoked: whitefish―the generic name of which is Coregonus―is an often underestimated, but by all means light treat. It occurs only in sufficiently deep freshwater lakes, such as Lake Constance. Actually, almost all our dishes are sourced with local ingredients.

That, of course, also applies to our range of wine and beer, for why carry coals to Newcastle? It is a known fact that our ‘Swabian Sea’, as Lake Constance is termed, acts as a tremendous heat accumulator that prevents extreme variations in temperature. That accounts for our almost Mediterranean climate, which is most favourable for hops and vines alike.

So, instead of piling a picnic hamper, a blanket, and sundry bottles up on your bicycle carrier, we suggest you end your country outing on our terrace and allow yourself half a pint there.

Language:
Stacks Image 2081
Stacks Image 2084



Online Booking

Anmeldung

Stacks Image 1015
Stacks Image 1016
Stacks Image 1017

Restaurant

Als Michel de Montaigne vor etwa 500 Jahren die seinerzeit obligatorische Reise nach Italien antrat und dabei Süddeutschland passierte, lobte er nicht nur die bequemen Federbetten, die er leicht und dennoch warm fand, sondern auch die hiesige Küche. Ihr sind wir auch heute noch verpflichtet. Dabei wird, wie anno dazumal, unsere reichhaltige Speisekarte durch eine wechselnde Tageskarte ergänzt.

Und wohlgemerkt, die schwäbische Küche kommt nicht notwendig zünftig daher. Ob gebraten, gedünstet oder geräuchert, der Felchen etwa - mit Gattungsnamen Coregonus - ist ein oft verkannter, durchaus leichter Schmaus. Er kommt nur in hinreichend tiefen Süßgewässern vor, wie etwa dem Bodensee. Überhaupt stammen die Zutaten für unsere Gerichte aus der Region.

Gleiches gilt natürlich für unser Wein- und Biersortiment, denn wozu Eulen nach Athen tragen? Unser ‚Schwäbisches Meer’ gleicht bekanntlich als großer Wärmespeicher extreme Temperaturschwankungen aus. Ihm haben wir unsere beinahe mediterrane Witterung zu verdanken, in der Hopfen wie Reben bestens gedeihen.

Anstatt sich also einen Picknickkorb samt -decke und verschiedenerlei Bouteillen auf den Gepäckträger zu türmen, schlagen wir vor, Sie lassen Ihre Landpartie auf unserer Terrasse ausklingen und gönnen sich dort einen Schoppen.